It is exciting to see Magento new versions keep coming out once after a while. Magento notify administrator upon login, and administrator upgrades it, then Magento should stop notifying until another new version is available. The logic should be as simple as that.
However, currently Magento message is always active even after upgrading. It only disappears when administrator marks it read or deletes it. Very annoying, isn’t it?